Our
blog

Phosphates: The Enemy of Your In-Ground Pool

16 April 2018

What are phosphates?

Phosphates are inorganic chemicals that nourish the algae and micro-organisms in your pool. This means that elevated phosphate levels are an indication of the proliferation of algae. This creates a strong demand for sanitizers like chlorine and bromine, whose purpose is to break down phosphates. They also make the water cloudy and are at the root of the formation of tartar when the water heats up. In saltwater hot tubs, phosphates have the tendency to cover the electrodes, reducing the effectiveness of sanitizers. In a nutshell, phosphates are nothing but trouble, making water management problematic and costly.

Dephosphatation of your pool or spa

How can you get rid of the phosphates in your pool? If the water is cloudy, appears to have a biological film on the surface or is emitting a foul odor, it’s time to call on a specialist to have it analyzed. A phosphate level higher than 100 ppb requires dephosphatation of your pool or hot tub water. Before proceeding, make sure that the pH and total alkalinity levels are balanced. It’s also recommended that you clean your filter cartridge.

With the help of the products for sale at Val-Morin Signature Pools, you can perform the dephosphatation of your pool or hot tub water yourself. Contact one of our representatives to find out all of the steps you’ll need to follow.

How to prevent phosphates in your pool

There are several ways to protect the water of your pool or spa against the damaging effects of phosphates. Use phosphate removers to eliminate their appearance and obtain clearer water; avoid the use of anti-tartar and anti-stain products, which usually contain phosphoric acid; and last, but not least, seek the advice of one of our representatives to learn about the good habits you can adopt to help keep your water clean and clear all through the swimming season.

Related articles

Win your pool or spa this year

6 April 2018

Did you purchase a pool or spa this year? The Quebec Association of Pool Dealers (known by its French initials, ACPQ) invites you to participate in the 24rd annual Win Your Pool or Spa Sweepstakes, which is your chance to be reimbursed for your purchase of up to $10,000 (including tax) if you bought a pool or spa anytime from the 1st of January through the 31st of […] Read more

Read more
Spa Minéraluxe
Mineraluxe: Hot Tub Maintenance Made Simple

5 September 2017

There’s nothing more relaxing than using your hot tub—summer or winter—in the comfort of your own back yard. And the maintenance it requires shouldn’t stop you from enjoying it to the fullest! The Mineraluxe kit,

Read more
Pourquoi COAST SPAS

21 July 2016

FILTRATION HYDRO-CYCLONIQUE Coast Spas utilise un système de filtration hydro cyclonique. Ce système de qualité commerciale, maintient la cartouche hors de la zone de baignade,

Read more
Show All Posts
CONTEST

Newsletter Signup

Receive our news, tips and much more by subscribing to our newsletter.

Information request
X

We are open again!

We will take all necessary precautions and follow the recommendations of the government.

For any questions, do not hesitate to write to us. We remain available for remote consultations.

Notre
blogue

Le phosphate : l’ennemi de votre piscine creusée

16 avril 2018

Qu’est-ce que le phosphate ?

Le phosphate nourrit les algues et les micro-organismes dans votre piscine. Un taux élevé de phosphate est donc un indice de la prolifération des algues. Cela crée une demande importante aux assainisseurs, comme le chlore ou le brome, qui ont pour but de décomposer les phosphates. Ceux-ci rendent l’eau terne et sont à l’origine de la formation de tartre lorsque l’eau se réchauffe. Dans les spas d’eau salée, les phosphates ont tendance à recouvrir les électrodes de l’appareil, ce qui réduit le travail des assainisseurs. Bref, les phosphates n’ont aucun avantage; ils rendent la gestion de votre eau problématique et coûteuse.

La déphosphatation de votre piscine ou spa

Comment se débarrasser des phosphates présents dans votre piscine? Si votre eau est brouillée, un film biologique semble apparaître sur le dessus de l’eau ou de mauvaises odeurs émanent de votre piscine, il est temps d’appeler un spécialiste pour faire analyser votre eau. Un niveau de phosphate supérieur à 100 ppb nécessite une déphosphatation de votre eau de piscine ou spa. Avant de procéder, assurez-vous d’avoir des niveaux équilibrés de pH et d’alcalinité totale ; le nettoyage de la cartouche de votre filtre est également recommandé.

Grâce aux produits vendus chez Piscines Val-Morin Signature, il est possible d’effectuer soi-même une déphosphatation de votre eau de piscine ou spa. Contactez l’un de nos représentants pour connaître l’ensemble des étapes à suivre.

Comment éviter les phosphates dans votre piscine

Il existe plusieurs façons de se protéger contre les effets néfastes du phosphate dans votre eau de piscine ou de spas. Utilisez des produits anti phosphate pour éliminer leur apparition et pour obtenir une eau plus claire ; évitez les produits anti-tartre et antitache, qui contiennent habituellement de l’acide phosphorique ; enfin, demandez conseil à l’un de nos représentants pour connaître les bonnes habitudes à prendre pour garder une eau claire et saine tout au long de la saison de baignade.

Articles connexes

type de piscines creusée
Quel est le meilleur type de piscine creusée

18 juillet 2022

Lorsque vient le temps de choisir votre future piscine, il est important de déterminer le bon type de piscine creusée selon votre budget, la superficie et la topographie de votre terrain, le style extérieur de votre maison, le mode de vie de votre famille, ainsi que l’entretien que vous désirez consacrer à votre piscine. Que […] En lire plus

En savoir plus
Sel vs chlore piscine
Le système de filtration de piscine creusée au sel vs. au chlore

15 juillet 2022

Avoir une piscine creusée dans sa cour est très pratique et très apprécié lors de grosses périodes de chaleur estivale. C’est aussi un bel ajout dans la cour pour passer de beaux moments en famille ou entre amis. Il existe principalement deux types de systèmes de filtration d’eau pour votre piscine, soit au sel ou […] En lire plus

En savoir plus
Peut-on rénover ou réparer une piscine creusée?

27 avril 2017

Catastrophe! La toile de vinyle de votre piscine creusée est déchirée. Rongée par le chlore, le soleil et

En savoir plus
Voir tous les articles
CONCOURS

Inscription à notre infolettre

Recevez nos nouveautés, conseils et bien plus en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre.

Demande d'information